

The University of Piraeus was founded in 1938 under the title of the "School for Industrial Studies", by the Industrialists and Tradesmen Association.

In 1945 it was renamed to "Higher School for Industrial Studies" and its aim was defined to be the systematic, theoretical and practical training of managerial executives.

In 1958, the "Higher School for Industrial Studies" was again renamed to "Graduate School of Industrial Studies", with its headquarters in Piraeus. Starting from 1966, the University operated in the form of a public legal entity. In 1989, the "Graduate School of Industrial Studies" was renamed to University of Piraeus.

Today, the following seven Departments are run by the University of Piraeus:

- Economics
- Business Administration
- Statistics and Insurance Science
- Financial Management and Banking
- Industrial Management
- Maritime Studies
- Informatics
- Technology Teachers Education

These Departments award degrees and doctorates in the corresponding scientific fields.

PANEPISTIMIOU PIREAS Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4120751.

TMIMA KENDRO EREVNON Ypsilandu 130, Pireas, 4175217.

TMIMA NAFTILIAKON SPUDON

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4125808.

TMIMA IKONOMIKIS EPISTIMIS

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4129201.

TMIMA ORGANOSIS & DIOIKISIS

EPIXIRISEON

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4129201. TMIMA PLIROFORIKIS

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4112463.

TMIMA STATISTIKIS KE ASFALISTIKIS EPISTIMIS

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4137163.

TMIMA TEXNOLOGIAS KE SISTIMATON PARAGOGIS

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4117947.

TMIMA XRIMATOIKOKONOMIKIS KE TRAPEZIKIS DIOIKISIS

Karaoli & Dimitriu 80, Pireas, 4133490.